• TO DOWNLOAD YOU NEED TO BUY AN UPGRADE

Usergroups and Permissions

HAWK

Administrator
Staff member
ADMIN
MODERATOR
XENFORO 2 SVIP
XENFORO 2 VIP
XF1 SVIP
XF 1 VIP
VERIFIED
REGISTERED
#1
968.jpg

A brief introduction to the predefined user groups and the permission system

Permissions
There are three different permissions:
  • Yes
  • No
  • Never
With the new permission Never it is possible to override the corresponding setting of all user groups in which the user is located.

Permissions can be granted on two levels:

User permissions: A single user can be given separate rights. User rights override group permissions! User rights are assigned per forum and can either be set via the key icon (
) in the user list overview or via forum specific rights.

Group permissions: The global rights for each member of the respective user group are set here. These rights apply globally. As with the user permissions, the key icon (
) can be used to assign forum specific rights that differ from global group rights. Again, the forum specific permissions overrides the normal group permissions.

User group system
There are three system groups:
  • Everyone
  • Guests
  • Users
These system groups can not be deleted or copied! A user is always in at least two of these groups.

In the user group Everyone is, as the name implies, every single user! This user group serves as the legal basis for all other user groups. If you want to allow or prohibit something globally, do it best in this user group.

A guest is always in the user groups Everyone and Guests.

Registered and activated users can be found in the user groups Everyone and Users. As a registered but not activated user, the user is still only in the user groups Everyone and Guests.

Other predefined user groups are the Administrators group and Moderators. Again, the rights are valid globally. If you want to use forum specific Moderators, you must set the permissions explicitly at the respective forum. Unlike the system groups these groups may be copied and deleted.

In addition, you can create as many user groups as you like.

Delete user groups
Only user groups can be deleted in which you are not a member yourself. Otherwise, the delete icon (
) is disabled (
).
 
Top